02
Dec
08

The beginning of the end?

Posse Comitatus Act

I never really knew much about it before today.

Then I read the Washington Post: Pentagon to Detail Troops to Bolster Homeland Security

The gist of the article is that the U.S. military is prepping 20,000 soldiers for deployment to U.S. soil for rapid response to emergencies, including natural disasters and terrorist attacks.

On Oct. 1 the U.S. Army announced that the 3rd Infantry Division’s 1st Brigade Combat Team will fall under the control of Northern Command and will work as the on-call disaster squad for the federal government.

Enter the Posse Comitatus Act.

Passed into federal law in 1876 following the reconstruction of the U.S. after the Civil War, the act prohibits members of the U.S. military from acting as law enforcement officers inside the nation’s borders.

While there are a few caveats that allow the National Guard a limited role in law enforcement and permit the U.S. Coast Guard to act as enforcers of the law, the act is pretty cut-and-dried.

The U.S. military is not to engage in law enforcement in the U.S.

According to the Post, military preparations for domestic terrorism have been underway since the mid-1990s.

Then, in Sept. 2006, President George W. Bush urged Congress to revise federal law to allow the government to take control following natural disasters.  At his urging, that revision was signed into law in Oct. 2006.

This issue crosses any partisan boundaries. The move was pushed for by Bush and will be continued by President-elect Barack H. Obama.

Bush / Obama

Bush / Obama

With the rapid expansion of the U.S. government, the move should not come as much of a shock. But what should shock Americans is the expansion of powers granted to the special military units being deployed for our protection and the ease with which the move slipped into action.

They can use non-lethal force to combat civil unrest.

They can use tactics to enforce crowd control.

What crowd will there be in the U.S. even in the case of a terrorist attack that is not an American crowd? While we may be infiltrated with agents of terror, I don’t see them attacking us like the British soldiers in the Revolutionary War. So, if an attack occurred, what civil unrest would need to be subdued?

I don’t want to sound like a conspiracy nut, but I got goose bumps when I heard about the deployment on the radio.

This is an issue that should bring everyone interested in the future of our nation together, especially those in the military who need to know the Constitution backward and forward to avoid confusion and chaos. 

The reason the Posse Comitatus is such an important act is that it guards against internal failure and is an extension of the system of checks and balances. When there is an emergency in a state, the governor is entrusted with providing security for the region with local and state officials and the U.S. National Guard. What cannot happen if our nation is to continue to succeed is the deployment of military forces for domestic events. When our own military is made available to use as a potential suppression device against the nation’s citizens, the foundation of our democracy begins to crumble and fascism takes hold.

Democrats and Republicans are both responsible for this and both parties need to be held accountable for risking our nation’s future.

Right now, more than any time in my life, it is on a hairpin trigger. 

Remember the words of our soon-to-be vice president.

“Mark my words, it will not be six months before the world will test Barack Obama.”

Now, with civil unrest and economic upheaval resonating across the globe, America is going to find out just who our new president is and what he is made of. Let’s pray he has the mettle to meet the challenges and the wisdom to realize that only through the blueprint provided by the founding fathers can we continue to be the world’s greatest nation.

10 Responses to “The beginning of the end?”


  1. 2 newbie
    December 5, 2008 at 5:13 am

    This is my first post on this blog, but I have been following it since it’s conception.

    I must say that I am not as informed on this topic as I would like to be. I’ve spent the last hour or so researching, reading news stories, trying to understand the reasoning behind our government’s decision to take this action.

    Why after more than 100 years do we need a “standing army” deployed on our soil? A number of the articles and newsclips I viewed called this group an “on-call rapid disaster squad”. Isn’t this the primary role of the National Guard?

    The word “deployed” confuses me. If they are going to be on a base somewhere sitting around waiting for a disaster to happen again I ask isn’t the role of the national guard? Are they to be openly deployed, if so, where?

    CNN said that there would be 4700 uniformed troops deployed. Okay, so are we going to have a soldier on every corner? What next? Tanks in our streets?

    I do know that it’s going to take me more time to wrap my brain around this, to make some sense of it, but I also know that as of now I’m very troubled and concerned.

  2. 3 CJ
    December 5, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Remember a few years ago, under Clinton’s rule, there were black army helicopters running training ops around and over Fayette?

    That fell under the same thing.

    The problem with this whole thing is that we fought against the Brits, because of the Brits forcing us to house British troops in our homes.

    While this act doesn’t order us to house our troops during these deployments….nothing in this act says it will be illegal for them to forcibly come into our homes and use our supplies for themselves during this “time of war” or disaster.

    That’s the problem when you give an army police powers, because it puts your army and thier commanders above the Constitution.

    Stock up on supplies, because the days of reckoning are upon us. It’s called Obama’s First 100 Days.

  3. 4 Tree Hugger
    December 5, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    CJ says – Stock up on supplies, because the days of reckoning are upon us. It’s called Obama’s First 100 Days.

    Response – This is sounding a bit like paranoia to me.

  4. December 11, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Speaking of the Army…

    This goes out to ‘Tree Hugger’. That is exactly what you represent, a tree hugging, oh, what else do you do???

    At the very least, you have the option to ‘hug’ trees, in the United States of America. Your vision of Utopia may include, free range/ hormone free chickens, driving a Prius, and spending your weekends off at Starbuck’s.

    In response to your response to “CJ”, you really don’t get it. It’s not paranoia, it’s the Army taking over the Constitution as we know it.

    Trust me, I have shared intimately, with my daughter and grandbabies, the absolute suffering felt every single day, at the absence of a father/husband deployed.

    And now, I feel the suffering of a Mother, with a son also deployed. Somebody’s got to do it. Why not you, ‘Tree Hugger’???

    What purpose do you serve? Do you know what is involved in becoming a police officer, are you aware of the current ‘deployment’ into our own beloved U.S.?

    Paranoia, I think not…

    Keep hugging those trees. The rest of us will continue to fight the battles that you avoid.

  5. 6 Tree Hugger
    December 14, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Kate

    Obviously, you are ignorant to what a Tree Hugger is. A Tree Hugger is someone who is an environmental campaigner, especially to deforestation. You don’t know me so don’t assume you know my political views in regards to our troops or police. Just like some folks on this blog you jump to attack someone who makes a comment that you don’t agree with. Get a life.

  6. 7 Anna Frielman
    December 14, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Tree Hugger: “Just like some folks on this blog you jump to attack someone who makes a comment that you don’t agree with.” —This in response to Kate.

    Tree Hugger: “CJ says – Stock up on supplies, because the days of reckoning are upon us. It’s called Obama’s First 100 Days. This is sounding a bit like paranoia to me.” —This in response to CJ.

    Some want everything both ways -another fine example of the hypocrisy of liberalism!

  7. 8 Tree Hugger
    December 15, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Anna – Point is, some of the people who post here are just very angry people. I don’t under stand how anything I have said is hypocritical. Just stated that I think what CJ said is being a little paranoid. I mean is he/she saying that we should stock up on supplies because the end of the world is coming?? Well, I am sure that if I had said something like Global warming is going to cause the end of the world soon, some people here would jump on me and say that I was being paranoid. WHO is the hypocrit now?

    And regarding my response to Kate. Like I said – she does not know my views on very much so why does she attack me because of my screen name? She sounds a bit emotional to me. She does not know if I have a family member serving with her son or not. She does not know if I have had a family member die serving our country or not. She does not know if I have served. She knows very little about me other than my screen name suggests that I care about environmental issues. I see nothing wrong with caring about our planet. WHY does she jump to attack someone she knows so little about? I mean her statement – “What purpose do you serve? Do you know what is involved in becoming a police officer, are you aware of the current ‘deployment’ into our own beloved U.S.?” – sounds very nasty to me but telling of what type of person she really is.

    By the way – before any of you jump on here to attack me about the global warming statement above – don’t bother because I don’t believe that it is going to cause the end of the world soon. Just used it as an example to make my point.

  8. 9 Terri
    December 16, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Definition of reckoning:calculation Definition of Day of Reckoning:The day or time when one must pay one’s debts, fulfill one’s obligations, or be punished for one’s transgressions………….. ..My understanding of Isaiah Chapter 2 is that in leading up to the “Day of Reckoning” we have two unmistakable choices. We can continue to follow the path of proud misguided leaders or we can “stop trusting in man” now and exalt God alone. Isaiah tells us the choice is clear with two totally opposite consequences. There is no middle ground for people to hide.

  9. 10 Steel Man
    January 6, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I love reading conservative blog sites. I think they are a prime example of the “uneducated electorate”. For those of us living in Fayette county, the only “civil unrest” that will ever occur here is if the bars shut down and the state lottery machines were removed. I know one thing, if there were ever a terrorist attack in Fayette county or a foreign enemy fired a missle at the U.S.A and it struck here, the good aspect is that we know that our enemies cannot read maps and also have very poor intelligence reports and on top of that they have very poor aim. 😉

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Peace out!


Leave a Reply

