12
Dec
08

At first blush

It has been 10 days since my last post. Far too long as far as I am concerned. However, sometimes life just gets in the way with viruses and car crashes and the like.

I have been quite ill for two days and prior to that, Mrs. the Right side was in a nasty car accident. And, since I have a soapbox, I want to take a moment to thank the police officer that responded to the crash and made my wife feel at ease. Thanks to all our first responders for serving and giving of yourselves when others might not.

Anyway, my political thoughts were briefly pushed to the back burner. But, on this snowy Friday in southwestern Pennsylvania, let me share some of my observations on a few subjects.

-Nuclear umbrella

At first blush, President-Elect Barack Obama’s alleged policy of providing a “nuclear umbrella” for Israel sounds like it might be a good thing. He announced the umbrella policy during a press conference earlier this week. Basically, the policy states that if Iran nukes Israel then we will nuke Iran.

As I thought about the implications of such a policy and the ramifications should it be enacted, I realized that the threat of a U.S. nuclear response to an Iranian nuclear attack on Israel will do little to curb the use of nuclear weapons by the rogue nation and will only further destabilize the volatile region.

The fact that the umbrella policy seems to imply that it is a forgone conclusion that Iran will have nuclear arms is also a startling revelation. Does this mean that the U.S. will not at least attempt to continue to actively block the nation from obtaining weapons of mass destruction?

And, more importantly, how can the threat of nuclear retaliation work as a deterrent in a region already rocked by unrest? I am a staunch supporter of Israel and while I applaud Obama for what appears to be an offering of protection and solidarity, I also recognize that no one is more capable of defending Israel than Israel. They have nuclear weapons and they have one of the best-trained military’s in the world. Maybe the president-elect should review his umbrella policy before he takes a potential misstep toward full-scale nuclear war.

 -Auto bailout

I heard one of the most interesting arguments in support of a bailout for U.S. automakers GM, Ford and Chrysler recently.

The person I was talking to said, “You know, the U.S. automakers really stepped up during WWII and converted their plants to make tanks and bombs and guns. The automakers really gave of themselves for years. You know, Rosie the Riveter, and all of that. Maybe they should get bailed out.”

Interesting and important, but hardly a reason for the U.S. government to again overstep its authority and provide financial rescue for the auto industry.

The means for rescuing the faltering automakers is in place. It is called bankruptcy and is the only recourse that little peons like you and me will ever have. If the government wants to structure the bankruptcy, I have no qualms with that. The U.S. auto industry is a vital organ of our economy and our national security, as was evident more than 60 years ago.

-Gov. Rod Blagojevich

Blagojevich

Blagojevich

This mess in Chicago with Blagojevich should not shock anyone who follows Chicago-style politics. For those who don’t know about Blagojevich, I will provide a link below. The corruption is damning. The fact that Blago basically wanted to sell a seat in the U.S. Senate is enough to make steam come from my ears.

The interesting part will be the potential connection to Obama as the investigation unfolds. Yesterday Rahm Emanuel refused to answer questions by the Chicago Sun-Times regarding the investigation. Specifically, Emanuel was asked if he is one of the unnamed advisors heard in recorded telephone conversations with Blago. Obama has already denied any connection between Blago and his administration-in-waiting. All I can say is -stay tuned…

-Christmas

It is my favorite holiday. There is something about the crisp images of snow and Christmas lights and family that make me feel like everything might be ok after all. When I look at the political landscape and then look at the landscape of Christmas in my mind’s eye, I can’t help but wonder at how we got here and if we can ever right the ship. I hope so and that is why I keep fighting.

This holiday season, I implore everyone to hold close to things that matter most and remember what Christmas is and why it is important.

This is a link to a guide published in the New York Times regarding the complaint filed against Blagojevich.

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/12/09/a-readers-guide-to-the-blagojevich-complaint/?hp

3 Responses to “At first blush”


  1. December 13, 2008 at 1:12 am

    And I was just about to scream into the blogsphere, “Where’s Right Side?”

    Nice week in review post. Hope your better half is getting better. A few comments, and that in brief:

    Iran: It’s pretty clear that Israel intends to follow W’s “preemptive strike” theory. They’ve done it before; they’ll do it again. They’ll take the spoken assurances of a U.S. president at face value…and then get down to real business. When it comes to protecting turf, I’d rather mess with a Chicago governor than an armed Israeli. And…I’m betting it won’t be nuclear. They’ll knock out Iran’s reactors with flyovers long before Mahmoud is capable of producing weapons-grade plutonium. He won’t know what hit him. (Would that W could have had the sense to contain himself regarding his fascination with Barack’s cousin and go after the REAL threat in that region.)

    Auto bailout: It’s also pretty clear that W, despite a surprisingly restrained Senate (and, perhaps TO spite them and “their” president-elect), is going to fork over some amount of [our] cash next week. It’s also pretty clear that [our] cash will be a Band-Aid, and that one, possibly two, of the Big Three will file for bankruptcy within months (or be bought out and consolidated by the other, or both). If so, next year will not shape up to be an economic boon for this country in any sense of the term. If Ford’s dire warning of being dragged down the toilet bowl if any of its competitors goes under is true, you can expect 2009 to make 2008 look like the Roaring 20s. And I’m okay with that. A bloated industry that needs to redefine itself should go through a lot of pain. I feel for the people who’ve put their lives into that industry, but I’d also expect them to look at me and say “I saw it coming years ago” if my industry (that’s yours and mine, Mr. Right Side) tanks…and it probably will, too, at least printwise. Better poor and reconfiguring for the future than nationalized. But Ron Paul says it better than I do: http://feedyouradhd.blogspot.com

    Blago: What the hell else can be said? Except, Bye Bye. Hope you like your head bald ’cause they’ll be shaving that glamorous mop of hair to check for lice when you’re incarcerated.

  2. 2 Tree Hugger
    December 14, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Josh said – The means for rescuing the faltering automakers is in place. It is called bankruptcy and is the only recourse that little peons like you and me will ever have. If the government wants to structure the bankruptcy, I have no qualms with that.

    OMG ! this is scary – I actually AGREE with something you said. 🙂

  3. 3 Carly
    December 15, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I’m sure Blagojevich was just going to take the money for Obama’s seat and redistribute it to the less fortunate. haha. I kid, I kid.


Leave a Reply

