16
Dec
08

“I had no contact…” Really?

Remember when I told you that Rahm Emanuel, President-elect Barack Obama’s chief of staff, declined to answer questions about his possible ties to Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich?

Now, according to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, Obama’s right-hand man not only discussed Obama’s vacant Senate seat with Blagojevich but was dispatched by Obama to deliver a list of candidates preferred by Obama to the governor and his representatives.

Blagojevich and Emanuel

Blagojevich and Emanuel

Team Obama has not disputed this fact as they continue to collect information regarding any links between the governor and the incoming administration for public unveiling Dec. 22.

According to Obama representatives, the president-elect has been asked to wait until then to talk about any links to Blago by U.S. Attorney Patrick Fitzgerald. However, it is not clear when Fitzgerald made the request.

The questions are starting to pile up for the bearer of change.

First, if Fitzgerald’s request came after Obama told reporters that he was going to gather the facts and then reveal information regarding any link between his administration and Blago in coming days, then why the delay?

As Jim Geraghty at National Review Online points out, truth is always available immediately but lies take time to create and calculate.

Second, now that we know Obama dispatched Emanuel to talk about potential candidates for his vacated seat, why did Obama tell the nation that he had “no contact” with the governor about the vacancy?

Third, if Obama confirms the reports that Emanuel met with Blago and or his representatives at Obama’s request, what discussion was had regarding the seat and was it ethical?

At best, Obama will emerge from the Blago mess nursing a few wounds to his claims of transparency in his administration by his calculated response and his initial flat denial of having any connection to the scandal.

At worst, the administration of Hope could face much more damning evidence pending the level of discussion between the groups and the actions of the president-elect and his staff in a web of Chicago political corruption.

And regardless of the potential connections to the scandal that may or may not be revealed, Obama will still have the sticky task of trying to explain to the American people how he worked with and supported Blagojevich during times when, according to the criminal complaint filed against the governor, Blago was allegedly involved in anything but ethical politics.

Obama endorsed Blago in 2002 and 2006 and also served as a top advisor to the governor in his gubernatorial bid in 2002. That is not good on the ole’ presidential resume. But, Bill Ayers also appeared like he might be a liability on a presidential application, and we all know how that played out for Obama.

For good measure, Emanuel also acted as a top advisor to Blago in 2002. How nice.  Merry Christmas, America.

25 Responses to ““I had no contact…” Really?”


  1. 1 Carly
    December 16, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    “Obama will still have the sticky task of trying to explain to the American people how he worked with and supported Blagojevich during times when, according to the criminal complaint filed against the governor, Blago was allegedly involved in anything but ethical politics.”

    No offense, Josh, but I disagree with the above statement. I think it will be EASY for Obama to brush this “connection” under the carpet just like all his other not-so credible or American connections. He’ll be able to smooth talk his way out of this one too.

    Not to sound like “Debbie Downer” here, but the man is surrounded by shady characters and has been, and the American people have put their blinders on and have made excuses for him, time and time again. Why is this time going to be any different?

    “truth is always available immediately but lies take time to create and calculate”….EXACTLY!

  2. 2 Kathy
    December 16, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Carly, I agree with you…..America has had their blinders on for quite a while. Obama is our “golden ticket”(I don’t think so). Right now he can “do no wrong” in the world’s eyes. For the first time in years we had other countries watching and supporting our election more that America itself. He’ll be able to sweep this under the carpet with ease. Some people will remember this for a long time to come, but the people that believe he’s the answer to our problems will never believe he had anything to do with it. Afterall, he did get elected even though he annouced his run for Presidency in a proven terrorist’s home, among many other downfalls.

  3. 3 Rich
    December 16, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Can we please officially chnage the name here to “Bash Barack.com” or something to that nature??? I mean, even I commended the HS for giving you a forum to share your poitn of view at first. I was truly curious to see how the far right thought, how comservatism could be a good thing. All you have done and continue to do(especially lately) is prove my original thought s about the right correct. There has been very little actual positive output on how conservatives feel this country can be fixed. Instead it is blog after blog bashing Obama’s character( are you really still grasping onto the Ayers connection????). we have literally just experienced 8 years of shady, shady, “buddy-buddy”, “we won’t tell you anything until we can get rid of the evidence” politics. Guess what people? Politicians ARE SHADY. Anyone who has lived in this area should know that better than anyone. But my whole point is, where is the intelligent conversation here?? The bashing is getting very tired already. It is your right 100% to do so. All I’m saying is, don’t hide it behind a claim of a blog for the “Right Side”……maybe – we’reallscrewedbecauseobamaispresident.com??? That is your main poitn here, right?

  4. December 17, 2008 at 2:10 am

    Referring to Carly’s comment, “but the man is surrounded by shady characters”. is an understatement.
    You can thank our ‘media’ for glorifying our president elect, consistantly brushing off questionable “affiliations” with WAY more than ‘shady’ characters, that have, in one way or another, uplifted this “Gem” into presidency.
    I actually have recordings from naive Americans, proclaiming “riches and prosperity”, once Obama takes office. No, this does not involve hard work, dedication to our country, core human values. They, as many others believe, that Obama represents “Change”.
    A “Change” for what? I suspect more laziness and greed…
    Obama is not the “Mesiah”, quite the contrary, as is proven with his many “shady” cohorts.
    Hypothetically, if given a choice to advance to a lucrative position at work,
    would you turn the other cheek and enlist a group of ‘shady’ individuals to fuel your advancement? Or would you maintain your integrity, and present yourself honestly, and offer the facts on what you could professionally ‘bring to the table’?
    I, personally, choose the latter. If I remain a “Peon” for the rest of my profession, I will always remain happy.
    At least I did it honestly, with a tremendous amount of pride and hard work.

  5. 5 Carly
    December 17, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Rich,

    A few things..

    1. There you go with the 8 years thing again. Bush didn’t win 8 years in the 2000 election…he was RE-ELECTED to 4 more years in 2004…maybe not by you…but obviously by enough people to keep him in the white house.

    2. In a previous post YOU openly admitted that as a lefty you have no REAL answers, yet you criticize us for not having answers. Maybe we don’t post all of the answers to the world’s problems, however we are allowed to express our CONCERNS with the President-Elect.

    3. I’m sure I’ll take some criticism for defending Josh here, but honestly, Rich, do you really think that Josh’s blog rips apart Obama MORE than Mr. O’Keefe’s blog rips apart any Republican he can or the newest blogger to the HS scene, Mr. Sunyak? I stumbled across his [Sunyak’s]blog today and read some interesting things he had to say about Rush Limbaugh and Glenn Beck, just ripped them apart, even had to mention Limbaugh’s former addiction to pain pills. It’s a known fact that when you disagree with a side or a person that you are going to try to find their flaws and try to point them out to people. Having said that, I re-read Josh’s blogs and he does the least amount of name calling and ripping of one’s character of most of the HS bloggers that have written about politics and politicians.

    4. I DO agree with you that there are a large number of shady politicians out there, but you can’t deny that they seem to slip through the cracks sometimes….and I believe that Obama has slipped through his share ALREADY….I mean really, do you honestly believe that he has gone through as much scrutiny in the media as Bush or McCain would have had they had the same dark clouds over them?

    5. And to defend Kathy – why shouldn’t she be grasping at the Ayers connection? Ayers is a horrible man who did horrible things, UnAmerican things, and you want us to forget it and drop it? I know, Obama was 8 right?…That’s the BIG DEFENSE that the left side comes up with? So what? As an adult, Obama is smart enough to know (especially with HIS education) who he should associate with and with whom he shouldn’t. But now that Ayers has come out and said he and Obama weren’t close that’s just supposed to erase what he said in the afterward his own memoirs?

    Here, Take a look, this is from Mr. O’Keefe’s blog: According to the Associated Press in the afterward of his new paperback release of his 2001 memoir, “Fugitive Days.” Ayers wrote, “In 2008 there was a lot of chatter on the blogosphere about my relationship with Barack Obama: we had served together on the board of a foundation, knew one another as neighbors and family friends, held an initial fundraiser at my house, where I’d made a small donation to his earliest political campaign.”

    Looks to me like Obama DID associate with a known terrorist…maybe they weren’t friends…(although he did say “knew one another as neighbors and FAMILY FRIENDS”) but they were close enough for Obama to accept that small donation Ayers made….not to mention attend the fundraiser at the Ayers residence.

  6. 6 Kathy
    December 17, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Rich-
    Did you read the article at the top? We are keeping to the subject. If you don’t like it don’t read it. Politicians ARE shady, and no matter who’s president they are going to be bashed by someone. That’s a fact of life. The people that didn’t vote for him are going to “bash” him and find flaws. Deal with it. If McCain had won, the boards would be riddled with the same stuff about him. I for one, am disgusted that the thought of changing the party in the Whitehouse is going to change the problems that our country has. It’s not the party, it’s the person, and America did it wrong. They thought only of themselves and the possibility of more money. He’s already going back on what he said about our troops, not even in office yet. Just to let you know…..there’s nothing that man can do to make me like him, I don’t trust him, and never did. That’s my right! My right as an American who has been in the Military for the last 12 years. I voted based on the facts, not the media like so many Americans did. Shady “buddy buddy” crap is EVERYWHERE! Not just in DC.
    Now, did you actually read the quote at the top? It says that freedom must be fought for, protected, and handed on. Now what experience does Obama have in that catagory? NONE! What does he know about fighting for our freedom? I feel I have every right to bash him for that reason alone. No one paid attention to the shady people he was involved with, but they are quick to bash Bush! What makes Obama so GD special? Why is it that he can do no wrong? What has he proven to us? Just that we are in for 4 more years of shady politics. I can proudly say….I didn’t vote for him. People wanted change, I get that. When was the last time we had an independant party? That’s change. So for now, I will proudly display my McCain sticker on my car, and purchase my “Don’t blame me, I didn’t vote for him” bumper sticker, and hold on, cause we are in for a bumpy four years.

    Kate, I agree with you. Honesty is sadly being put on the back burner, and people don’t care as much about it anymore. All they care about is how much they can get for nothing. Very sad. I work hard, and have 2 jobs. I don’t like that fact that wealth redistribution is going to give money to those lazy worthless people that have become nothing more than parasites.

  7. December 18, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Rich,

    May I boldly suggest “Spellcheck”?

  8. 8 Jeff Garloo
    December 18, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    “we won’t tell you anything until we can get rid of the evidence” politics! That’s so rich, Rich. Oh yeah, that’s all going to change now! Ha ha!
    Well Rich, now we have a president elect who has locked down all of the evidence his birth, school and medical records. You only know about Obama wants he wants you to.
    Scoff, laugh, whatever, but do your own research. I know firsthand that factcheck.org’s so-called copy of Obama’s CERTIFICATE OF LIVE BIRTH (as opposed to birth certificate) is a complete fake. Call me out on it and if the moderator lets me, I will detail all of the photoshopped fakery so that you and everyone else here can see the glaring handiwork, beyond doubt!
    It’s not even his birth certificate and it has still been altered big-time because although anyone can get a CERTIFICATE OF LIVE BIRTH (which proves only that you were in Hawaii at some point), he did not even get that when his mother came to Hawaii.
    Don’t believe his records are sealed? Try to get a copy of his school records. You can’t. Try to get a copy of his medical records. You can’t. Try to get a copy of his birth certificate. You can’t. I can’t remember how many jobs that I applied for and a basic requirement was to provide a copy of my birth certificate.
    Still laughing?
    How did Obama travel to Pakistan in 1981 while in college? Obama -“I traveled to Pakistan when I was in college — I knew what Sunni and Shia was [sic] before I joined the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.” In 1981, an American citizen was not allowed to go to Pakistan. So, did he use his Indonesian passport? If he did, he would have had to have been considered an Indonesian citizen, and in order to be one he would have had to renounce his American citizenship.
    Still laughing Rich?
    Let’s talk about Chicago politics. Why? Well, that is Obama’s political background. He is part and parcel to Chicago politics. The Illinois Supreme Court on Dec. 17, 2008, refused to hear a claim that Gov. Rod Blagojevich is unfit to serve, erasing what could have been the quickest path to forcing him out of office as he faces federal charges.
    Interesting that the day before, Blagojevich stated that he is ready to talk. Talk about what?
    Obama’s wife serving on charitable boards in which she was not qualified? Obama’s involvement with Tony Resko, Blagojevich’s old buddy. Oh yeah, and then there is Rahm Emanuel, you know, Obama’s chief of staff who had no contact with Blagojevich about the Illinois senate seat and then (before Obama could have those records sealed) admitted that he did. Seems Obama’s memory is sometimes worse that Hillary’s.
    Illinois Supreme Court refused to hear a claim that Blagojevich is unfit to serve -Obama, sealed records, sealed lips! Congratulations Rich, your candidate won!

  9. 9 Kathy
    December 18, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Jeff-

    BRAVO! BRAVO! I couldn’t have said it better myself! Yet somehow he got elected…????

  10. 10 WonderWoman
    December 18, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    He got elected because of the historical significance, the promise of change, the stern and determined ring to his voice. He captured the gullible and preyed on the youth.

  11. 11 CJ
    December 19, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Obama got elected because he made the liberals feel guilty and the liberals made the unintelligent sheep feel guilty.

    I voted for Obama in the Primary because he was the lesser of two evils.

    I voted for Swann against Rendell, but I never heard anyone claim that voting for Rendell was racist.

    And Rendell won by double digits AND look at all the shady connections that Rendell has!!!

    Rendell makes Al Capone (who he looks like a lot) look like a saint.

  12. 12 Tree Hugger
    December 19, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Jeff says – Call me out on it and if the moderator lets me, I will detail all of the photoshopped fakery so that you and everyone else here can see the glaring handiwork, beyond doubt!

    Response – Oh Jeff – Please do tell. I need a good laugh.

  13. 13 Tree Hugger
    December 19, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Funny how this Blog writer never mentions any of the “Right Side” shady connections. What about Sarah Palin’s connection with Ted Stevens http://www.truveo.com/Sarah-Palin-and-Ted-Stevens-Dirty-Energy/id/4114918851

  14. 14 Carly
    December 19, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    This has NOTHING to do with the post, but I have something to share: I am Josh’s wife.

    Why am I sharing this information with you? There are a lot of people that know me and know who “Carly” is. I’m not stupid, I knew that was going to happen, if I truly wanted to hide my identity, I would have come up with a clever alias. However, there are some Lefties who know who I am that are just FURIOUS that I haven’t “outed” myself. Because apparently, when you are married to the blogger you must forfeit your anonymity from those who DON’T know you, or your spouse will be outcast even more than he already is.

    I also didn’t come out and say that I was Josh’s wife so that people wouldn’t feel intimidated to post…Yes, I defend my husband, when I see fit, any loving wife would do so, but I also know that Josh is a big boy and can fight his own battles. Also, I didn’t want to embarrass him with some of the things I say or how rash I can come off. I’m truly a very nice person that just gets caught up in the “heat of the argument” sometimes.

    I am not posting this to make “them” happy….I am posting this because I’m not afraid to identify myself, I shouldn’t have to, but I’m not afraid to. No one should have to reveal their identity, anonymity is inherent in the blogosphere.

    My husband and I may share MOST of the same beliefs, but we do not share the same brain. I, just like everyone else, have the right to post and share my opinion, and that’s exactly what I have done. If the “bullies” on the left don’t like it, they don’t have to read my comments.

    I am my own person, not even my husband can control what I say, think, or do…that’s the beauty of being a free woman in America.

  15. 15 Jeff Garloo
    December 19, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Anytime! I will provide all the downloaded photos of the certificate from factcheck and the enlargements and the detailed information.
    If they are willing, it shouldn’t be a problem for the Herald-Standard to provide a linked page with the photos.
    Anyone, even with a rudimentary knowledge of photoshop, can duplicate my findings.
    Please don’t choke on your laughter, Tree.

  16. 16 Rich
    December 19, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    WOW…Carly is Mrs Right Side? You married Josh? Now you’ve gone and blown all your credibilty righ to hell! Just kidding!!! I wish you both a lifetime of happiness together and your own little army of Reaganites to raise to change the world!
    Now to defend myself here. My initial post here was not to criticize anyone for speaking their beliefs or thoughts. i was just stating my feelings on this blog. Like I said I came here wanting to learn the thought process of the “right side”. Instead it is just day after day of “the left is terrible and we’re all screwed now”. No hope. No positivity. No giving this man a chance at all. And again, your right to feel that way. I was just suggesting more “honest” names for the blog.
    As for the other blogs, as I’ve said before, I could care less what they have to say whether they agree or disagree with me. I am interested here because I believe myself and the blogger are from the same generation if you will(late 20’s – early 30’s) and I want to hear what he has to say.
    Then the 8 year thing again. This time Craly I will stand by statement. Last time I referred to the American people being forced 8 years of Bush and you corrected me that the American people did choose him for the second term. However this time I was referring to 8 years of shady politics and that is undisputable. one of the shadiest moves of this afdministration was the whole WMD issue and that happened early in the first term.
    Kathy, I can see you are very passionate about your dislike for our next president. And you are right, it is your right to do so. I do have one question for you though. First, I sincerely thank you for your 12 years of service. I myself, have not served like the president elect. But Kathy isn’t that one of the rights you are serving for??
    Finally I would like to wish you all, left or right, a very merry and blessed Christmas!!!!

  17. 17 Carly
    December 22, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Rich,
    Thanks for the kind wishes.

    I must apologize, after I posted my response to you, I reread my statement and saw that my 8 year argument was irrelevant to what you were saying…..This time!

    I doubt you’ll find any “true conservative” who is hopeful and excited about our Next President. Granted, we’re giving him a chance…we have no choice…so you won’t find me praising Obama UNTIL he proves himself. You know, sort of like the 90-day probation period when you start a new job. You don’t get all the “perks” until you’ve proven yourself in your role.

    I’m not about to “fall in line” and convert to an Obama supporter like many other so-called republicans have just because of the “history” of it all (or because he’s who we’re stuck with). My main concern is making sure our Great Nation doesn’t BECOME history, not MAKING history.

    What I’m trying to say is, I didn’t agree with Obama before he was elected…and that hasn’t changed so my attitude and outlook on things to come have not changed either.

    I hope in 4 years I can look back on this and laugh at myself for being so pessimistic and paranoid! Honest, I do, but the practical person in me wants to be prepared, just in case.

    Merry Christmas to you too, Rich!

  18. 18 Mike Pasqualucci
    December 22, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Rich, you say -Instead it is just day after day of “the left is terrible and we’re all screwed now”. No hope. No positivity. No giving this man a chance at all.

    So right! Why give a chance to a man who appears to be so deceitful in so many areas? Would you hire someone who you thought may have connections to organized crime (Resko, Blagojevich, etc.) and was close family friends with a Bill Ayers a 60’s era radical who admitted to blowing up government buildings and who never showed remorse and who dedicated his book to the likes of Sirhan Sirhan (he’s the guy who assassinated Bobby Kennedy) and then he (Obama) lied about how close they were, and who refuses to produce his real birth certificate and who refuses to show his school records?
    Not me. I wouldn’t give him a chance. But it’s not up to me. All I can do is try to prevent him from taking office in the first place by blogging and signing petitions and such.

    I hope it not “so long, America” time. I truly hope that God changes Obama’s heart. That’s the only hope we have. God bless us.

  19. 19 Tree Hugger
    December 24, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Uh yeh – about that Birth Certificate. I am still waiting on Jeff but it won’t suprise me at all if he does not produce.

  20. 20 Jeff Garloo
    December 26, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Uh yeh – about that Birth Certificate. I am still waiting on the Herald Standard for the okay, but it won’t suprise (sic, yours Tree) me at all if they do not produce a linked page (I’ll provide the photos and technical information).
    Help me and the rest of the readers and ask for the page. If not, we’ll look for alternatives.

  21. 21 Newbie
    December 27, 2008 at 7:32 am

    “Can we please officially chnage the name here to “Bash Barack.com” or something to that nature??? ”

    Rich, I’d go along with that if I could suggest a few changes too. How about from NBC to New Barack channel…. ABC to All Barack channel …. CBS to Continuous Barack System … etc, ect.

    Are you seriously upset and/or possibly threatened that a small town newspaper reporter can post a blog that reaches out to conservatives and their beliefs and allows them a place to voice their opinions. I have not seen Mr. Krysak be anything but fair to the posters on this blog. He does not “cherry pick” responses, he takes the heat from those who disagree with his views, and he does so fairly and respectfully.

    “The Right Side”… seems self explanatory to me. If I read this blog it just might be a tad conservative, but I could be wrong. Maybe “right” means opposite of left…maybe it means conservative…maybe Mr. Krysak is an egomaniac and it actually means RIGHT.

    As far as Barack bashing goes…are you kidding me?? For eight years those of us who supported George Bush have heard nothing but bashing from the “left”. The man hasn’t done one…not ONE thing right since he’s been in office. Newspapers, News Stations, Actors (yeah, their opinions, I value those the most…NOT) have all taken pot shots at the man, blamed everything wrong with America on him. Last time I looked Congress was made up mostly of Liberals…how then did Bush succeed in single handedly bringing America to her knees? All I have to say is I am looking forward to the next four years. A Liberal President, A Liberal Congress, and A Liberal Media…..who to blame…who to blame??!

  22. 22 Tree Hugger
    December 29, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Jeff, all you have to do is post the link here as a comment for all to see. very easy……

  23. 23 Jeff Garloo
    December 29, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Tree,
    Post a link to what? I don’t have a website. But now that you mention it, maybe I can look into a blog that lets you upload photos and provide a link to that. Will look into it and will update you via this thread.

  24. 24 Jeff Garloo
    January 24, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Tree, found this site where the same research has been done and explained in much greater detail than I could ever hope to. I have looked at everything presented here firsthand in photoshop and our findings are identical. See for yourself:

    http://www.obamacrimes.info/thebirthcertificate2.html

  25. 25 Anna Frielman
    January 25, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Tree obviously does not care about the truth. He is the perfect example of the mainstream media achieving it’s intended results.


Leave a Reply

