19
Dec
08

Snow in Vegas and other Christmastime delights

Winter wonderland

Las Vegas, Nevada was blanketed by nearly four inches of snow Thursday. The record-setting snowfall was just one of many across the nation, with record-breaking totals reported in Seattle, Washington and Spokane, where 17 inches of the white stuff fell in 24 hours setting the all-time record for Spokane’s most rapid snowfall.

Snowfall was also reported in Malibu.

Winter weather is sweeping across the nation crippling traffic in Los Angeles as Chicago and New York brace for major snowfalls.

The global average temperature in 2008 is the coolest (57.7 degrees) on record in more than a century, according to a report released by the World Meteorological Association this week.

NASA has released a study that melting arctic sea ice is the result of wind-driven flow patterns and not related to allegedly warming temperatures.

And yet, in public schools we have children in “green” Christmas programs talking about cutting down trees and rising temps and sea levels. For the love of all that is holy…check it out at the link below.

http://planetgore.nationalreview.com

President Bush

George W. Bush is so frustrating. One moment he will say something that totally renews my faith in him. Then, in the next breath, he will say something that makes me want to put my head in the microwave.

For example, I was proud when he told FOX News in a sit down interview that he did not compromise his principals to be a popular guy and specifically referenced being a wartime president. I like that. That is a president I want in the White House. Someone who is unflagging in their pursuit of that which is right and just.

Then, he makes this statement regarding the economy: “I have abandoned free market principals to save the free market system.” Wow.

How can one man go from dogged determination in his pursuit to route out terror to abandoning his principals to prop up the failing economy? It is that question that will puzzle conservatives in decades to come as they try to grasp the Bush presidency, a mishmash of strength and weakness that has protected our nation but too often undercut conservative principals on the domestic front.

Blago-watch

The Chicago Sun Times is reporting that not only did Rahm Emanuel deliver a list of President-elect Obama’s choices to fill his vacant Senate seat to the office of Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich, he also had direct conversations about the appointment to the vacant seat with the governor. The Times is reporting that while their is no indication of wrong-doing by Emanuel, if he did speak directly with Blago, it again calls the new administration’s claims of transparency into question and makes Obama look foolish for denying contact.

As I have said, stay tuned. This story gets more interesting by the day.

3 Responses to “Snow in Vegas and other Christmastime delights”


  1. December 23, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Carly,

    I’m not quite sure why you felt compelled to announce that you are the ‘Wife’ of Josh. You very clearly have your own opinion, and thoughts, you really don’t need to clarify this.

    I am so glad you are here, in this blogosphere, to continue to represent your thoughts, your opinion. I too, am somewhat baffled at the turn of events that have occurred. I only pray that this “historic” event proves me wrong, as well.

    I too, remain cynical, until otherwise, proven wrong. I pray, that I’m wrong….

    May you and your Husband share a very blessed Christmas!

    To Kathy, thank you Kathy, for having the “balls” to proudly serve our country for so many years. Words cannot express my gratitude to you, and your service. This is what it’s all about. Truth, honesty, and integrity.

    I have the American flag displayed in front of my house, 24/7, 365 days a year. I refuse to replace it with the seasonal ‘flags’, because I am an American. I have (reluctantly), given my ‘flesh and blood’ to uphold all that I hold near and dear.

    I don’t consider myself to the ‘left’ or the ‘right’, I consider myself a truely concerned citizen of our beloved U.S.

    Cherish your family and friends, and have a Merry Christmas!

  2. 2 Carly
    December 23, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Kate, thank you for your kind words! I wish I could explain in greater detail why I announced who I was, but I cannot. I don’t want to rock the boat so much that it capsizes.

    I hope that you and your family have a wonderful and joyous Christmas!!! God Bless You!

  3. 3 Bill W.
    December 30, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Hey Josh,
    I was sitting here thinking and I decided that I need a bailout. I have foolishly spent too much on Christmas not X-mas and am in need of some cash. I was at a local store and saw a young man using an ACCESS card. He was bragging as he purchased Red-Bull and chips for a party he was throwing and was telling his friend about how much he was “paid” each month by the US Government.
    A few years ago, I received a stimulus check. Mine was $600 I think. I was happy to receive this and paid my property taxes with them. This guy was receiving a stimulus check each and every month. He was proud to display his card like it was the American Express. In fact it is the true “American” express. This is the express route straight to a recession and maybe worse. We have taught our young people not be ashamed of public assistance, (or homosexuality or adultery or “expressing ourselves” anyway we desired).
    The welfare system is there for a reason, and there are people that should fit into this system. Not drunks or people who can but will not work. And yes alcoholism is NOT a “disease”. Cancer and diabetes are diseases. Deprive them of medicine they need and they will die. Deprive an alcoholic of alcohol and he gets better.
    This country better wise up or we are done. The silent majority better blow the cobwebs from the vocal chords and better speak up.
    There is a battle going on down South over a cross on a license plate. You know what? Don’t fight to have the cross on the State owned registration plate, put them on your bumper. Taking the 10 commandments from a courthouse should not bother anyone either. There are hundreds of churches in every county but only one County courthouse. Put them large as life on the front of the church. The bible tells us that if we are ashamed of the Lord JESUS, he will be ashamed of us. I think he already is….


Leave a Reply

