30
Dec
08

What happened to working hard?

I have a friend, lets call him Will.

Now Will is your average guy. A hard worker who slogs his hours and treasures time with his family.

Will tells me a story the other day about a woman he has never met before standing in line in front of him at a store who struck up a conversation with him.

The unsolicited conversation went something like this:

Woman: “Yeah, I tell you what I had a fight with my neighbor ’cause they wanted to take one of my kittens my cat just had and I don’t think that she will take care of it so I fought her and tried to beat her up. Can’t take one of my kitties, it is Christmas.”

Will: “You actually fought her, physically?”

Woman: “Yeah, but I was drinkin’. The police even got called but the PoPo ain’t got nothin’ on me. Anyway, I came out shopping ’cause today is payday.”

Will: “Where do you work?”

Woman: “Work? Na. Its just payday. I get money on this day every month. You know, payday. Disability.”

Will: “Pardon me for being forward but how are you disabled?”

Woman: “I’m disabled because I can’t work or nothin’. I just can’t do it so I get my money and that pays my bills.”

Will: “You mean my money?”

Woman: “Not your money. Money for my disability. I have been getting it for years. Food stamps too.”

Will: “I hate to break it to you but that money is my money and every other taxpayer’s money.”

Woman: “No it ain’t. It’s from the government ’cause I can’t work, see? I need it to feed my litter of cats and to buy beer. You know, the holidays and all.”

Will: “But that is my money subsidizing your lifestyle. Don’t you think that is wrong?”

Woman: “No. It is payday, that’s all. I get paid, you just don’t get it. It don’t have nothin’ to do with you and your money. The government gives me what I need. You know, welfare? It ain’t your money.”

Unfortunately, Will’s scenario plays out daily all across the U.S. as the nation’s reliefer class grows by the day and the democrat spending package that foists the tax burden onto the wealthiest among us will continue to make that number skyrocket as companies and corporations fold under increased tax burdens and nonexistent stimulus packages for the wealth creators.

Of course, there are those out there who really need the assistance and I do not begrudge them my tax dollars.

However, too often the welfare system is milked by those who know it only too well. Why earn it when you can win it? We are running a federal lottery and Obama is soon to be the ring master. The trillion dollar stimulus package has been labeled his top priority. How grand.

Remember the woman who proclaimed after an Obama rally shortly before the election that she “won’t have to worry about her car payment or her mortgage anym0re because she believes in Obama.”

That was scary, but it was just the tip of the iceberg.

While I am sure that there were millions of thoughtful votes cast for Obama in November, a massive freeloader vote helped swing the pendulum for him and those freeloaders can’t tell you much about why they voted as they did. But they can tell you that they are certain they will continue to get free money and maybe some other free stuff with our president-elect in office. And, of course, they can tell you that they were a part of history.

I’d rather be a part of history that said no to change for change’s sake.

A segment of the country that, instead of voting because they could be a part of history, voted because the country’s history depended on it.

5 Responses to “What happened to working hard?”


  1. December 31, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Josh, Josh, Josh………..

    You have touched a “nerve” in me so deeply, I can hardly wait to type the words necessary to summarize my thoughts on the absolute laziness and greed that continue to escalate and plague this country, as mentioned in a previous entry.

    First of all, like your wife, I need to make “an announcement”. Except I will explain it. I am a nurse. In my profession, I deal with these low-lifes on a scale you probably can’t and/or wouldn’t want to imagine.

    Let me go back a little further…. All my life, until the last three years, I have been a ‘staunch’ Dem. But with life, comes changes, witnessing my flesh and blood, voluntarily sign themselves up with the military, serving our country, without pretense, monetary gains, or “agendas”. They did it for personal reasons only, feeling it was the ‘right’ thing to do.

    Changes, also involved, becoming a nurse. While going to school I also had two kids in college at the same time. Yeah, we lived like the poor, and I learned to love beans with rice. We did ‘without’ for quite awhile, so we could all fulfill our dreams and passions to continue to contribute to our society in a positive direction. I cannot even begin to tell you how many times I wanted to quit school, probably every day. But, I want to be a positive example to my kids. There was even a time I had to borrow money off my own mother, just to have gas in my car so that I could get to school. I was completely devastated and embarrassed.

    As a nurse, there is a ‘population’ that I continue to endure on a day to day basis. While I “schlepp” my way into work, round trip 84 miles per shift, there is an overwhelming client base of what I fondly refer to as, the “Manipulators”.

    These individuals are primarily, not all of the them, but mostly, addicted to drugs and/or alcohol. They will spend an entire 24 hours a day to get what they want, and will stop at nothing to do so. Leaving staff entirely exhausted, frustrated, next to tears, or crying. These individuals have a sense of “entitlement” that rivals even the frivilous nature of Imelda Marcos. If they don’t get what they “need”, they will stop at nothing, calling administrators, crying their ‘care’ is less than fair, claiming negligence on behalf of staff members.

    What do these “winners” do for a living? Nothing. They collect their “paychecks” and know exactly, through years of experience, how to manipulate the system as it stands. I guarantee you, they voted for President elect Obama, for the continuation of laziness, greed, and free hand-outs.

    You and I, and countless others, heard the ‘simple’ claims of “freedom from car payments, mortgage payments”, when Obama takes office. As I said before, I hope and pray, beyond words, that Obama has the balls to say, “Guess what, you lazy pieces of @#$%!!!! Get to work”!!!

    It is indeed, time for CHANGE……

    A change of attitude, respecting fellow human beings. It’s not all about “me”, it’s about all of us.
    A change towards pride, pride in your family, work, community involvement.
    A change to spend a little less, and save a little more.
    A change to end this cyclic devastation to our country, that continues to empower the lazy….

  2. 2 Chas
    December 31, 2008 at 2:05 am

    Welfare will be the downfall of our country. It does nothing to generate capital, only squander it. Our country was not made great because of its social programs. People came to America for the American Dream. Guess what? The American Dream consisted of hard work and the freedom to prosper through it. What has happened? Millions of people found out that you really don’t have to work hard to get the fruits from anothers labor.

    We don’t need more social programs. There are too many already. Our country will survive without them. Families, neighborhoods, churches and charities can offer much of the assistance that most able-bodied welfare recipients are receiving today. I know myself that I will probably never see a dime of the money that the government has deducted from my paychecks for the past 25 years for my social security. When I see the many welfare abusers out partying up on my dollar, it tends to raise my blood pressure a bit also. Put an end to the abuse. Offer them a job. If they truly have any self respect and want to prosper, they will take it. If not, stop the free ride and give them a one-way ticket to Europe, Africa or better yet, Cuba.

  3. 3 Hilary
    January 2, 2009 at 8:37 am

    “land of the free and the home of the brave” – so when did people start taking the last line of our national anthem so literally? when did people stop learning the value of hard work and dedication? from a very young age, my parents taught me that I would have to work for the things and I wanted… and I continue to do so. nothing was more disheartening then registering for college courses only to be turned away because the gentleman in front of me took the last seat (the same gentleman that was “lookin’ for something to do” and heard he “could get like $1,000 for some clothes and stuff” but he “didn’t really want to be in school”).
    work ethic? when did that stop mattering?

  4. 4 Carly
    January 2, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Like Hilary, and I’m sure many others, I was always brought up to work hard, that nothing in life was going to just be given to me.

    My parents didn’t give me money during the week or on the weekend to go out with friends, I didn’t have an allowance, I worked from the time I was 9 (God Bless bingo every night of the week). I bought what I wanted with my own hard earned money, with the exception of Christmas, birthday, Easter and Valentine’s gifts. When I bought my first car, I made the payments, including insurance. I paid for my own cell phone, the gas for my car, chipped in money for food, etc.

    I didn’t resent my parents for not handing me money or for not buying me everything I wanted, I knew they would if they really could. Now, don’t get me wrong, they’d help out if I got in a jam, but they taught me the importance of working hard and doing things on my own. Was I envious of friends and others who got everything they wanted? Sure, at times but it felt better to save up money for something I wanted than to just be given it, just because. Where’s the reward in that?

    I have to be honest, I’m not the best at saving money…I live paycheck to paycheck, I don’t own a big screen t.v. let alone a flat screen t.v….I have a few different projects started around the house that I don’t have the money to finish right now, I have to juggle the bills sometimes, etc. But you know what? I work hard for what I do have..and am very proud of that fact. I have a wonderful husband, a roof over my head, and 8 adorable, loveable pets.

    Point is, hard work got me where I am today, I may not have everything I want, but I have everything I need…and I’m good with that.

  5. 5 slyDog
    January 5, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    OBAMA is what happened to working hard.

    He’s encouraging everyone to be lazy and COLLECT rather than get off their butts and do it themselves.

    Take my money and hand it out, I don’t think so. Not saying I have something against Charitable donations, but dang, let me decide who, when, and where I give MY money to.

    we’re in for some serious trouble.


Leave a Reply

