10
Mar
09

An Obamanation

Yet another obamanation.

British Prime Minister Gordon Brown came to the White House to visit with our new president earlier this month and Obama really went out of his way to extend that olive branch that liberals were crying for after eight years of what they claimed was the destruction of America’s global image.

Brown and Obama

Brown and Obama

Yes, President Obama did everything he could to show the world and our closest ally, England, that we have nothing but love and respect for them.

First, the new administration armed with the new tone of hope for the future dismissed the honored tradition of flying the flag of a visiting foreign leader.

Then, team Obama decided to forgo another time-honored tradition and did not set up a joint news conference between the leaders of the free world during their first visit with one another.

But wait, it gets worse.

Gift giving between nations is a sacred tradition and a ritual that even dolts like me recognize as a reflection of the respect between countries.

Brown presented Obama with a wooden pen set carved from the wood of the HMS Gannet, an anti-slave ship that was the sister ship to the HMS Resolute.

For those who might not know, the HMS Resolute is more famous following her decommission than during her time at sea. To summarize it briefly, the ship got stuck in icy waters in the 1850s and the British had to abandon it while the Gannet was able to break through the ice and return home. When conditions cleared after leaving the boat behind, the U.S. retrieved the Resolute and delivered it to England as a gift and a reminder that the recent revolution was past and the young nation was now a strong supporter and ally to Britain.

After it’s decommission, the Queen of England had two desks made from the wood of the Resolute – twin desks.

Resolute desk

Resolute desk

 

One of those desks has been used by the queen for more than a century and the twin desk was presented to the U.S. and has sat in the Oval office for presidents from FDR to JFK to Obama.

Pretty nice, right? Brown also threw in a first edition of the seven-volume biography of Winston Churchill by Sir Martin Gilbert and a framed commission for the HMS Resolute. Wow.

But for all his smoothness behind a teleprompter, the suave and trendy Obama fell on his face with his return gift – a collection of 25 DVDs of American films, films that Brown will not even be able to play on DVD players in the UK because the technology is different than it is here.

Beautiful. Obama will be able to hold a piece of history that reflects our great friendship with Britain and the nation’s triumph over slavery while signing away the rights of the American people and collapsing our economy and Brown…well, Brown can have nigthtmares about the Bates Motel, gasp as Dustin Hoffman stare at the camera under a stocking clad leg and cry when ET is laying in the creek, his body transparent and sickly with his impending death.

The Graduate

The Graduate

Mrs. Obama did her part to keep the classy trend flowing when she apparently forgot to get gifts for Brown’s children and then hurriedly presented Mrs. Brown with two replicas of the Marine One helicopter. A gift that can be purchased not only at the White House gift shop but at Dulles International Airport as well. How thoughtful.

And for the Obama brood? Well, Mrs. Brown presented Michelle with specifically tailored dresses and outfits from one of England’s top designers as well as matching jewelry and a collection of children’s books.

Brown should have expected Obama’s arrogance and ignorance. Just weeks before the visit, Obama told Brown that a bust of Winston Churchill that has been on display in the Oval Office since the Sept. 11 attacks was no longer needed.

The bust, one of two in existence, was given on loan to Obama’s predecessor following the terrorist attacks as a symbol of solidarity.

Brown quickly declined what he thought was Obama’s offer to return the bust and told Obama that Britain would like to extend the loan and added that the bust was meant to stay in the U.S. and suggested that it be placed in a museum if it was not wanted at the White House. But, the egomaniacal one refused the gesture and said the White House would box up the bust and ship it home, which they did.

Now some of this could be chalked up to much ado about nothing but other parts of it are leave me feeling sick to my stomach.

As the honeymoon starts to end here and Obama’s weaknesses are finally starting to surface in spite of the mainstream press’s reluctance to report the news, it appears that Obama’s global honeymoon might also be ending too.

Maybe Obama, who professed to being a big Jay-Z, fan should put the rap stars latest hit, “Swagga Like Us” on repeat.

Jay-Z

Jay-Z

“I can’t teach’em my swag, you can pay for school, but you can’t buy class.”

No you certainly can’t.

17 Responses to “An Obamanation”


  1. 1 shoefreak13
    March 10, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I cant believe it.. Shipping the bust of Winston Churchill back to Britain is like Obama saying we dont need the Statue of Liberty anymore and shipping it back to France!!!!

  2. 2 Carly
    March 10, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I’m absolutely horrified at what I just read. Are you kidding me? Talk about a slap in the face, all around. Obama is one classy guy!

    Ok, ok…doesn’t he have advisers? Didn’t anyone else in the White House know that his gifts were inadequate? How does this happen?

    Wow…I’m just at a loss for words, here.

    Shoefreak is right….it’s just terrible.

  3. March 10, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Even if you ignore the message sent by President Obama to the British people, he has made a rod for his own back. Because, as he sucks up to other less savoury countries and accords them the usual state formalities, it will further enforce and maginify the disdain and contempt he has for the British people. Ironically, there appears to be far more American’s angered by his treatment of our head of state, than Brits. Obama does, however, need to understand that he doesn’t just insult Gordon Brown, but 65m people as well, is that the message he wanted to send I wonder?

  4. 4 Chas
    March 11, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Seriously, what can one expect from a communist? The only focus on the first family is themselves. I am sure this will not be the last of the great embarrassments handed to us by this administration.
    We are no longer a superpower, but now a supercircus. Quick, someone find a magician that can make these clowns disappear.

  5. 5 treehugger
    March 11, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    awwwwww, how truly embarrassing! A true American gift would have been a McDonalds Happy Meal or something similar. C’mon don’t we have bigger problems here?

  6. 6 joshkrysak
    March 11, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    treehugger:

    Obama’s disregard and disdain for our greatest ally is a big problem. These little snippets from Brown’s visit represent a microcosm of his arrogance and downright disrespect to those not beholden to his brand of global Marxism.
    However, I am quite hopeful that there are now indications that a slow erosion of Obama’s support has begun and that is going to continue to eat away uncovering his rhetoric-laced nuanced speech and reveal him for what he truly is – someone who views the nation much like you do. (McDonald’s Happy Meal) As I have said so often, what must it be like to be so enraptured with your own disgust for America? How sorry I feel for you.
    I will pray for you, treehugger, that you might emerge from the “gray area” and see the light because, when you walk in it, more than your own understanding assures your steps.

    J-

  7. 7 treehugger
    March 11, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Oh thank you all knowing one.

  8. March 13, 2009 at 5:00 am

    Josh, you are more a man that I could ever dream to be, if I were a man. I have zero sympathy for a liberal that consistently, and weakly, bashes on a conservative blog. If this lib’s opinion mustered ANY true self-searching, or investigation worthy material, I would honestly and thoughtfully, consider the opposing thoughts.

    What is needed here is a multitude of prayers, and in my opinion, an exorcism.

  9. 10 Rich
    March 18, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Keep praying people, it’s solved all your problems this far right?

    Quoting Jay-Z?? Kudos to you sir.

  10. 11 Carly
    March 19, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    WOW Rich…and to think I was actually trying to be nice to you with my last comment on the other blog…..

    You’re a jerk. Plain and simple. You try to come off as so well-rounded and you “truly admire the blind faith of any religion, honestly.” Yet you openly mock prayer. CLASSY.

    You are so wishy-washy…back and forth, all over the place.

    Maybe that’s why you’ve steered away from your Christianity, because God didn’t answer all your requests in the timely fashion you wanted him to…..Well, I’ve got news for you, God doesn’t work on your time table…

    God let’s things happen, Rich, and maybe we don’t understand why, and maybe we get angry and upset at times, but there’s a reason for everything. We have FREE WILL – you can’t blame our problems on God – well, I guess YOU can because you don’t believe in him.

    I think Lucifer just reserved your spot in hell with your last comment.
    Hey, don’t get mad at me, in your last comment on the blog before this, you said that if I’m right about my religion, you were going to hell….I’m just trying to reassure you that comments like the one above will help you get there.

  11. 12 Carly
    March 19, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Rich, I apologize for calling you a jerk…not very nice of me. You just really got under my skin with that comment and kinda contradicted your admiration for those who have blind faith.

    Your comment was jerky…I cannot call YOU a jerk – until I get to know you better 🙂

  12. 13 Rich
    March 19, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Carly,
    I do admire the “blind faith” to a degree. But, for the love of god(whichever you choose), Treehugger made a statement about McDonalds and everyone is going to pray for him??? he’s not sick, dying or in serious trouble. Doesn’t God or Xenu or whoever have bigger things to worry about than Treehugger’ds lack of faith? Don’t you all have better things to pray for?? Or maybe it was being used in a condescending way?? That’s the more likely answer. Thus my response.
    As for the jerk statement, don’t apologize. I offended you and you responded. Actually, this is where the admiration of blind faith comes in. The passion and anger of your response was evident. You absolutley 100% defended prayer and religion. I don’t understand it but I do admire it. Trust me, Carly, if you knew me better you might be surprised. As I’ve said before I come from a very Christian family. I was raised that way and the morals have stuck with me. And if you read back, I NEVER attacked or questioned anyone’s religious beliefs until the ignorant staement about Xenu was made.

  13. 14 Carly
    March 20, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Rich, Treehugger’s comment about McDonald’s wasn’t taken lightly because with that flippant statement he or she basically said America has nothing better to offer than a happy meal. Any true patriot for their country would have been upset….and if that is how Treehugger views America, then yes, we Christians who do pray should pray for him or her because even when our chips our down, we have so much to be thankful for in this country!

    And Rich, My God is everywhere and IS INDEED worried about Treehugger’s faith. Why would God let his son die for mankind’s sins if he didn’t care whether we did right or wrong? As far as prayer, I pray for a wide range of things – from making my headache go away to World Peace and everything in between….and it is my belief that he hears them all.

    As for calling you a jerk – thank you for understanding, but I stick behind my apology. It wasn’t very nice or very Christian of me to say. And I do not know you well enough to say such things. I wish I could help you understand, and it seems to me like you once did especially coming from a very Christian family.

    But I can’t prove to you that God exists, there’s the bible, but even it can be questioned in regards to its veracity because it was “written by man.” There are miracles – but they just get chalked up to “luck”, “good doctors”, “fate”, etc. – everything I could try to prove or try to explain, can be argued without the key ingredient to all of it: Faith.

    I won’t even go into what I think about Xenu and Scientology. It does amaze me though how people believe in a Science Fiction writer’s “discovery” but yet can’t bring themselves to believe in the bible because it was “written by man.” – which is usually the non-believer’s argument.

  14. 15 treehugger
    March 24, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Carly said “I won’t even go into what I think about Xenu and Scientology. It does amaze me though how people believe in a Science Fiction writer’s “discovery” but yet can’t bring themselves to believe in the bible because it was “written by man.” – which is usually the non-believer’s argument.”

    Response – To Non believers Both are Equally UN-believable. Why would one sound any more ridiculous than the other?

  15. 16 Carly
    March 24, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    No No, TreeHugger, let me rephrase that.

    What I meant was…it amazes me how people can believe in Xenu and not in God. You’re right, to non-believers both are just as ridiculous as the other. I only made the “which is usually the non-believer’s argument” to reiterate that I do not feel that way, that most non believers feel that way. I didn’t mean to include non-believers with Xenu believers. I can see how it could have been taken that way, but I used my hyphen to distinguish that it was separate from the point I was trying to make. Obviously, I didn’t do that good of a job. Sorry for the confusion.

  16. 17 Rich
    March 24, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Carly,
    Why does believing in Xenu amaze you though? This is what I don’t understand. Why is believing in an aien from the center of the Earth(or whatever Xenu’s story is) any differnet than believing in a man that heals the sick and rises from the dead? As Tree said, both are equally unbelievable. However you say you are “amazed” by them. This is basically the MAJOR reason of many that I belive the way I do today. As a christian you condemn millions, if not billions, of people to an eternity of damnation. These could very well be good, productive people to society, maybe evn friends. Yet because they don’t believe what you do, you must condemn them. You may not yell in their face that they will burn in hell but that IS what you believe. And that’s fine. I, however, could not live that way. Hopefully that helps you understand my stance a little more.


Leave a Reply

